Losing a beloved family member can be a life-changing experience that impacts all facets of your life. But what recourse is available if your loved one was killed by the reckless or negligent actions of a person or corporate entity?
New Hampshire has adopted a Wrongful Death Statute that grants surviving family members an opportunity to recover damages through civil litigation. While it's impossible to place a monetary value on human life, compensation can help you mitigate the financial repercussions associated with a sudden and preventable death, including medical bills, funeral expenses, estate taxes, and probate fees.
What Damages Can I Recover by Filing a Wrongful Death Claim?
You can recover significant damages by pursuing a wrongful death case. In the past, our firm has recovered hundreds of thousands and even millions of dollars on behalf of our clients. If you have questions about this policy, please contact the wrongful death attorneys at Mulvey, Cornell & Mulvey.
If your loved one was killed by the negligent conduct of a person or company, you could be awarded the following damages in a wrongful death case:
- Lost net earnings
- Loss of earning potential
- Funeral and burial expenses
- Medical bills
- Pre-death physical and mental pain
- Loss of consortium (up to $150,000 for a spouse; up to $50,000 for each child))
- Loss of enjoyment of life
In addition to specific damages if the person or company that caused the death of your loved once acted with disregard for the consequences of his/her actions, the jury can award enhanced damages.
Mulvey, Cornell & Mulvey has handled dozens of Wrongful Death matters for the families who have lost a loved one. We know how to prepare the legal case, articulate the losses, present the needed evidence, retain the proper experts and ultimately try the legal case if a reasonable settlement cannot be achieved.
Hopefully, as you are reading this you have not lost a loved one due to another's wrongful conduct, but if you have, please call and schedule an appointment to meet with us to discuss your rights.
Vermont and Massachusetts also have Wrongful Death Statutes affording families the right to seek civil justice. We can discuss those Statutes and your rights as well.
To secure damages, your legal team needs to prove 3 critical facts: the defendant owed a duty of care to the deceased party; the defendant breached this duty of care by exhibiting negligence; the defendant's actions and choices led to the wrongful death.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
In New Hampshire, a claimant has 6 years to bring a wrongful death claim to court. This countdown, which is known as the statute of limitations, starts ticking the moment a fatal accident or incident occurs. Of course, sometimes the clock can be reset if a claimant discovers new information that can affect the outcome of their case. For this reason and more, you need to discuss your legal options with a qualified attorney before filing your claim.
Explore Your Legal Rights & Options Today
Contact the wrongful death lawyers at Mulvey, Cornell & Mulvey if you require legal representation after the loss of a friend or family member. Our compassionate and experienced legal team can investigate the incident, negotiate with insurers, and litigate on your behalf in court to obtain a verdict that facilitates your financial recovery. By choosing to take legal action today, you can protect other innocent parties from suffering your loved one's fate.
Call Mulvey, Cornell & Mulvey at (888) 879-4109 to arrange a free consultation with our legal team.